Randy Ribay @ Kepler's Books, Menlo Park [13 March]

Randy Ribay

19:00 - 20:30

 Facebook event page
Kepler's Books
1010 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, California 94025
Randy Ribay was born in the Philippines and raised in the Midwest. A graduate of the University of Colorado and the Harvard Graduate School of Education, Ribay taught English on the East Coast for a decade but now teaches in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Join us to celebrate the launch of After the Shot Drops by local author Randy Ribay, a powerful novel about friendship, basketball, and one teen’s mission to create a better life for his family in the tradition of Jason Reynolds, Matt de la Pena, and Walter Dean Myers.

«Ribay’s depictions of Bunny’s and Nasir’s lives are beautifully—if not tragically—drawn...[Ribay] painstakingly shows the state of (sometimes violent) desperation for many young men of the inner city, buoyed only by the distant chance of a better life through stardom. Despite its downbeat aspects, the story nevertheless manages to infuse humanity into the boys’ lives by showcasing the importance of family, the value of friendship, and the importance of courage in the face of difficult situations.» — Booklist
Only registered users may comment.
Pass a quick registration or authorization.

The most anticipated events in San Jose :

Justin Timberlake - The Man Of The Woods Tour
SAP Center
Anjelah Johnson
San Jose Improv Comedy Club
Maluma "F.A.M.E. Tour"
SAP Center
Cirque du Soleil Crystal
SAP Center
The Price is Right Live!
San Jose Center for the Performing Arts
Disney Junior Dance Party On Tour! - San Jose, CA
San Jose Civic
Steely Dan & The Doobie Brothers at Shoreline Amphitheatre
Shoreline Amphitheatre At Mountain View
Andrea Bocelli
SAP Center
March For Our Lives San José
San José City Hall
Earth, Wind & Fire
San Jose Civic
The most popular events in your news feed!